Tags

, , , ,

Today:

My fruit salad

Me- Hey Honey, look what I did at school today!

Husband- It’s fruit salad.

Me- Doesn’t it look tasty? I got to bring 3 containers home because not a lot of other people wanted it.

Husband- I don’t really like fruit salad.

Me- It’s not just plain fruit salad, it’s got a sugar syrup and mint and papaya.

Husband- Umm, okay dear. As long as you’re excited about it.

Me- It was to test our knife skills so the teacher could see that we were able to cut all the fruit the same size.

Husband- But yours is all different sizes.

Me- We had to work with a partner. We had a different vision.

Husband- So did the teacher understand?

Me- Not really. So, are you sure you don’t want some fruit salad, because I’ve already had 2 bowls and it won’t be good for more then a couple days…

Turns out my husband has good survival instincts. I did not make him tell me that he liked it. Thanks, Dear.

Fruit salad recipe-

2 apples, 2 pears, 1 small papaya, 1/4 of a melon, 2 kiwi, 1 orange. All diced into cubes. Tricks for cutting each fruit to be linked here shortly.

Mix fruit together and add – Juice of 1 lime, 4 mint leaves (sliced into small ribbons) and 1 cup sugar syrup.

Sugar syrup- In a small pot, mix 1 1/2 cups of water with 1/4 cup of sugar. Heat until water steams but not boiling, stirring occasionally until sugar is dissolved and water seems slightly thicker. Turn off heat and leave syrup to cool.

