Tags

, , , , ,

I’m rather a sucker for free food (I prefer to think of it as being an opportunist and concerned about waste, rather then the more likely prospect that I’m cheap). So when our teacher said, “Take home the leftover vegetables if you want them!” I packed my bag so full, the zippers gave me dirty looks.

Now I have some extra carrots around the house. My also frugal husband was not as impressed as I hoped he be. He asked the question, “What are you going to do with all of those? We don’t really have room in the fridge”.

Luckily, I had a plan.

Big, perfect carrots. Time for soup.

THE BEST CARROT SOUP (big batch)

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 large onions, diced
  • 8 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 cup uncooked rice
  • 4 cups chicken (or vegetable)broth
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tsp ginger

In a large pot over medium heat, melt the butter.

Add chopped onions. Turn heat down a little so that onions carmalize. About 10 minutes.

Add carrots and spices (ginger, curry powder and salt). Cook another 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add stock, rice and orange juice. You can also add up to a cup of water if thinning is required. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

When carrots are soft, remove soup from heat and let cool 10 minutes. Puree with a hand-blender until smooth. Serve warm with a good, crusty bread.

